Over 15,000 educators subscribe to my free weekly newsletter. Click here to sign up.

What are the “Six Shifts”?

By Dave Stuart Jr.

I first heard the “Six Shifts” mentioned by Mike Schmoker in his presentation at the Michigan Reading Association's annual conference a couple months ago. However, I've only recently discovered where they're located on the internet! For the sake of improving the internet, I want to link to them (on that page, you'll find links to videos in which John B. King Jr., David Coleman, and Kate Gerson discuss the shifts), and I also want to take a minute to briefly describe the shifts. In general, it looks like the EngageNY.org website is a rich source of implementation resources.

Overall, these “shifts” are the instructional shifts needed to effectively implement the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in ELA/Literacy desires in PK-12 schools. You'll notice that the first two are grade-specific, and the final four are general for K-12.

I hope this post contributes to the improvement of Google's algorithm. Then again, now when I search for “six shifts,” I go straight to EngageNY.org. But that could be because Google is stalking me/every individual on the planet.

, , , ,

4 Responses to What are the “Six Shifts”?

  1. Renee Burnett (@rburnett8) July 11, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    For Grades 2 & 3, the standards specifically identify the following text types: fables, folklore and legends from diverse cultures.


  1. Common Core R.CCR.4 Explained | Teaching the Core - August 2, 2014

    […] standard ties closely into one of the “Six Shifts” of the CCSS (“Academic Vocabulary”), so, at least in the eyes of those who […]

  2. Common Core R.CCR.9 Explained | Teaching the Core - October 29, 2014

    […] it has everything to do with helping my student build knowledge (remember, building knowledge is one of the six big “shifts”that the CCSS calls […]

Leave a Reply